Skip to main content

Spring has sprung....sort of.

Spring seriously needs to hurry up. I'm out of pants.

For the past two weeks, Canada has been a big tease. It's been in the 60's!! The snow has melted, the skies were clear and I even ventured out in sandals one day. (A bit premature maybe - What can I say? I got excited.) But then, just when you thought it was safe to venture out without layers -- it's overcast and chilly again. Lame.

You'd think we'd be used to this unpredictability having lived in Texas. However, after the winter we've just been through I feel like I've earned Springtime!! I want to wear flip-flops and sundresses. I'm absolutely dying for the trees to bloom.

My in-between phase (21 weeks) is also making the 20 degree temperature shift a bit more challenging. All my pre-baby pants are too tight and the few maternity pants I have are too big. That leaves my trusty yoga pants. (aka Goldilocks) Matthew is so tired of looking at these. Fortunately, comfort trumps my desire to look sexy right now. :)

In the next couple of months, we are going to have a slew of visitors. Let's pray it warms up again for them and Ottawa presents itself in the best light. Otherwise, I fear they will leave thinking the same thing about their visit that we were about our move in Mid-January - "What the hell was I thinking?!"



Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Comments

  1. Anonymous3/22/2010

    that is to funny bc back here in Texas we just experienced all four seasons in one WEEK!! so i cannot really feel too bad for you yet :> i am dieing to get those flip flops out and start flippin' & floppin' (hahahaha). hope you get to feeling better about the weather and the damn clothes you are dealing with now :> hope to see ya in Nov since i will be missing the April trip.
    Aunt MEL

    ReplyDelete
  2. I agree with you she has our nose! We have cute noses

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Self-Quarantine - Second Entry: Breaking News

Breaking News! Breaking News! Breaking News! TV off. I'm a bit jealous of folks who gave up social media for lent. I can't remember the last post I saw that wasn't virus-related. A friend of mine said something like, "anxiety loves this stuff." She ain't lying. I watch the news, get all bothered, turn it off and calm down and then go back for more. Anyone else? Today, our Prime Minister said, "Let me be clear. If you are abroad, it's time to come home." This was followed by something along the lines of  if you don't already live here, you ain't gettin' in.  This was hardly a surprise but hearing him say it out loud is a little unnerving. Especially when our families live thousands of miles away. AND I have elderly and seriously ill relatives. For now, I'm not sure when I'll see them again. I speak to my Mom when I can and she's told me she's glad we're here. (so am I) But still. Shitty. We've just com...

The Roaring 20's

The next decade is pretty bleak... if you ask Hollywood. Dystopian, disconnected, dangerous. In keeping with America’s obsession to promote fear, we have been taught, through film, that our reality will go majorly awry … relatively soon. When we were kids, my mind didn’t see 2020 like this . We have fun gadgets now, sure, but sadly, my car still doesn’t fly (lies, Jetsons), I can’t make pizza with a “hydrator” in less than a minute (thanks for nothing, Back to the Future 2), and we can’t even implant memories! (although, Total Recall, wasn’t exactly promoting this) To be fair, though, a future envisioned where things are just sort of the same wouldn’t bring in box office numbers. Throw in a robot uprising, a worldwide plague or carnivorous aliens and we line up.  What the hell is wrong with us? Here's 5 movies that make me want to build a bomb shelter:    1. Blade Runner Released in 1982. Set in 2019. Siri and Alexa are relatively new to u...

Self-Quarantine - Third Entry: Uncertainty

I feel a shift in the air. I think you feel it too. That feeling of impermanence is gone. As with many things, when quarantine first began, we were gung ho. Inconvenienced, and a bit annoyed, sure, but still pretty optimistic. The memes were pouring out. People were sharing their new home/work schedules, enrolling in free online classes (myself included) and hunkering down for what we were told would be only a few weeks. Totally doable. We're now finishing up Week 3 in lock down. And, let's be honest, shit's gotten a little too  real. Always the optimist, I still believe we'll get through this. In fact, I know we will. I still believe this time will eventually be a memory. I have to trust that by doing what I'm supposed to, I will be fine and so will those I love. But the truth of it is, by the time this is done, many won't be alright. There will be an aftermath. A new reality. I just don't know when and how that will happen. The  not knowing  is what...