Skip to main content

Sticks and Stones

I've never broken a bone. This is certainly not for a lack of trying. As a child, I was constantly scabby-kneed and bruised. (As a teenager and young adult lacking grace, just bruised) I was fearless in a way you can only be when you're young and don't know any better. Sure, I'll climb the tree. Sure, I'll go off the high dive. Sure, I'll ride my bike down that ridiculously steep hill. Roller coasters? Bring it on. I was constantly banged up and I loved it. My scars are badges of honor.

Around 25 something strange happened. Faced with another daredevil stunt, I hesitated. I stopped and I thought, "Wow, this could go badly." Fear. Being a grown-up kind of kills the fun sometimes, huh? What was I scared of? Falling? Yes. Making an ass out of myself? Yes. Breaking my first bone? Most definitely. Most likely though it was the realization that should something go awry the medical bills and possible fines would all be on me, the girl without health insurance or a lawyer.

So, I started being more careful. We all do. Inevitably, we all give in to wearing seatbelts, taking a multivitamin, wearing helmets and sunscreen... Hey, I got this. See? I'm being so careful. So....why does my back hurt? Why am I sore?

Welcome to your late 30's. The time in your life when you find out that you have to do nothing in order to get hurt. Irony. I may as well take up skydiving. Here are some things I've done (or didn't) that have caused discomfort. And for the record, this is bullshit.

1. Jump. Remember how fun that used to be? Trampolines were the tits. Now...ugh my poor knees, my poor heart.

2. Sit on your knees. We do this every night for bathtime with Isabel. It takes approximately 10 minutes to recover.

3. Physically play with a child for a full afternoon. Also known as forgetting how old you are for a moment. Don't get me wrong, I love playing with my kid. But after, it's naptime.

4. Get a good night's sleep. Ahhh...one of those rare nights when you wake up when you're supposed to instead of at 4 a.m. You feel so refreshed until you realize you really haven't moved that much during the night and you've been laying on your arm for 7 hours.

5. Sit comfortably. Seriously. I used to have two or three go-to positions for sitting. They have betrayed me lately. Pins and needles and restless leg.

6. Do nothing. It goes with #5. Just wait. I'm not exaggerating. If you sit and wait long enough some random pain will occur. For me, it's like a hot needle in my calf, upper arm or hand. The only explanation I have is that someone has a Vanessa-shaped Voodoo doll.

7. Try on clothes. My favorite and the inspiration for this blog. I went shopping yesterday and tried on a dress. After getting it over my boobs, I quickly realized taking it off would be no easy feat. Cut to me doing a dressing room truffle-shuffle terrified that I was going to have to call for help or get a rib removed.

So, please be careful, folks...or don't. Whatever, just keep a ample supply of Ibuprofen at the ready.

V-



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Self-Quarantine - Second Entry: Breaking News

Breaking News! Breaking News! Breaking News! TV off. I'm a bit jealous of folks who gave up social media for lent. I can't remember the last post I saw that wasn't virus-related. A friend of mine said something like, "anxiety loves this stuff." She ain't lying. I watch the news, get all bothered, turn it off and calm down and then go back for more. Anyone else? Today, our Prime Minister said, "Let me be clear. If you are abroad, it's time to come home." This was followed by something along the lines of  if you don't already live here, you ain't gettin' in.  This was hardly a surprise but hearing him say it out loud is a little unnerving. Especially when our families live thousands of miles away. AND I have elderly and seriously ill relatives. For now, I'm not sure when I'll see them again. I speak to my Mom when I can and she's told me she's glad we're here. (so am I) But still. Shitty. We've just com...

The Roaring 20's

The next decade is pretty bleak... if you ask Hollywood. Dystopian, disconnected, dangerous. In keeping with America’s obsession to promote fear, we have been taught, through film, that our reality will go majorly awry … relatively soon. When we were kids, my mind didn’t see 2020 like this . We have fun gadgets now, sure, but sadly, my car still doesn’t fly (lies, Jetsons), I can’t make pizza with a “hydrator” in less than a minute (thanks for nothing, Back to the Future 2), and we can’t even implant memories! (although, Total Recall, wasn’t exactly promoting this) To be fair, though, a future envisioned where things are just sort of the same wouldn’t bring in box office numbers. Throw in a robot uprising, a worldwide plague or carnivorous aliens and we line up.  What the hell is wrong with us? Here's 5 movies that make me want to build a bomb shelter:    1. Blade Runner Released in 1982. Set in 2019. Siri and Alexa are relatively new to u...

Self-Quarantine - Third Entry: Uncertainty

I feel a shift in the air. I think you feel it too. That feeling of impermanence is gone. As with many things, when quarantine first began, we were gung ho. Inconvenienced, and a bit annoyed, sure, but still pretty optimistic. The memes were pouring out. People were sharing their new home/work schedules, enrolling in free online classes (myself included) and hunkering down for what we were told would be only a few weeks. Totally doable. We're now finishing up Week 3 in lock down. And, let's be honest, shit's gotten a little too  real. Always the optimist, I still believe we'll get through this. In fact, I know we will. I still believe this time will eventually be a memory. I have to trust that by doing what I'm supposed to, I will be fine and so will those I love. But the truth of it is, by the time this is done, many won't be alright. There will be an aftermath. A new reality. I just don't know when and how that will happen. The  not knowing  is what...